Daily Work

Hello everyone

Hello, my name is Brian Cedillo and I grew up in Wichita. I graduated a few years ago from Wichita State University with a degree in Graphic Design and a minor in marketing. Upon graduation, I moved to Brooklyn where I got a job as a graphic designer for a furniture company called S&D Design. I made catalogs, edited images, and managed the company’s website and social media accounts. I was not very happy living in New York so after a while I moved to Los Angeles where I was working various jobs managing social media and doing some graphic design work. Again, I was filled with the discontent that I experienced in New York where I decide my own creative direction. I didn’t want to keep creating what I was told to. I wanted to be in control of the content I create, the social media posts I write, and the creative direction I decide on. With that in mind I decided to move back to Wichita to get a degree in IMC with hopes of moving back to LA to do what I’ve always been wanting to.

On a personal l note, I have two awesome dogs; one’s a pug/poodle mix and another one’s a poodle. They are my best friends and my everything.

Hi Class!

My name is David Diaz and I was born and raised here in Wichita, KS. I am twenty years old and this is my third year at WSU. I am and Integrated Marketing Communications and I am hoping to graduate by spring 2020.

Mexico 2018

My parents migrated from the US when they first got married and began their lives in Duarte, California. Then from jumping around due to my fathers job, they landed here in Wichita then a true blessing was born (me), and their lives changed forever. My family and I get along extremely well and I love spending time with them. We take a family trips once a year to Mexico to visit family and it’s literally what I anticipate throughout the whole year. While we’re there, we spend time with family and take advantage of all the amazing food they have to offer. The vacation is the only time me and my sibling are all together so we try to hangout as much as possible.

Colorado 2018

I like to think I’m a well rounded person, and I try to keep an open mind throughout new experiences. I like trying new food and going to new places. My friends also helped me get out of my comfort zone and they encourage me to try different types foods or traditions that they practice with their family. Im really excited for this semester and excited for this class. Hope everyone has a great semester! 🙂

Hello!

My name is Gladis, and I am a communication student at Wichita State University with an emphasis in journalism and electronic media. This is my second year, so I am just now diving into my major classes. I’m excited to learn new skillsets like using Adobe software and analyzing the importance of visual communication. Design is one skill I’m hesitant to learn in this class since I’ve always thought I was more analytical than creative, but hopefully I can discover new talents.

I was born in El Salvador but raised in America. My family immigrated here when I was less than a year old, so all I’ve ever known was the wheat state of Kansas.

Throughout high school I involved myself in the Newspaper, Yearbook, and Studio Broadcast programs, unknowingly growing a passion for communications. Eventually, I found myself at Wichita State for its journalism program and great internship opportunities.

            Right now, I am at an in-between state where I want to apply to an internship, but I also want to develop my skills more before I dive into any commitments. Hopefully, this class will teach me useful analytical and creative skills through photography, typography, and Adobe programs.

            During my free time, I enjoy spending time with the St. Paul University Parish community and spending quality time with my friends. Whenever, I am not binge-watching Once Upon A Time on Netflix, I am usually playing card/board games with my boyfriend, Alex. It’s a simple way to destress. I, currently, only have three games on my bookshelf, but I’m working my way up!

Hey class

My name is Daniel, and I am a sophomore political science major seeking a minor in journalism. I cover Student Government Association for The Sunflower, and I work part-time for Derby’s weekly newspaper, the Derby Informer.

I’m originally from a small city in North Carolina called Mooresville, just a short drive from Charlotte. I moved to Wichita at the end of middle school and graduated in 2017 from South High, where I was fortunate enough to receive the Joan Hargrove Political Science Scholarship to attend Wichita State.

Louie

At WSU, I hope to increase my Spanish fluency, serve as an editor for the Sunflower, and spend a semester interning out of state. After college, I’d like to work as a reporter for a newspaper or a non-profit organization.

I am the youngest of four siblings, one brother and two sisters. The majority of my family lives in North Carolina, but I have an aunt and uncle here, as well as their families. I own an orange tabby named Louie.

My birthday is Sept. 11, so that’s pretty tragic.

Other than that, I love music (especially hip-hop), history, video games, watching basketball, and traveling. One of my goals is to see all 50 states before I’m 50. I’ve been to 20 and Washington, D.C. so far, so I think I’m on the right track.

This is a photo I recently took at Warren Riverview Park in Derby, the city I work in. The park opened in October 2018 as the city’s first access point to the river, and it has a pretty awesome layout. Check it out if you haven’t already.
I recently had the opportunity to attend the National Collegiate Media Conference in Louisville with a few Sunflower staffers. While there, we made a stop at Churchill Downs, where the Kentucky Derby is held. Needless to say, it was one of my favorite trips.

Hello!

Hello! My name is Jessica Wright and I’m twenty two years old. I was born in Wichita, Kansas on December 6th in 1996. Before attending Wichita State University I went to Heights High School. This is my fourth year at Wichita State and Im studying communications with an emphasis in Integrated Marketing.

I have a pretty big family which includes 3 siblings, tons of aunts, uncles, and cousins and a dog that I love dearly named Buddy. My family and friends are my biggest support system and a big part of who I am.

While I’m not studying or in class I am usually at work. I work at Greystone Steak and Seafood where I am a server. I like serving because the money is very good and it allows me to meet different people and use my personality. In my spare time I also volunteer at Mueller Elementary where I tutor students and help with after school activities.

While I’m not very involved on campus right now, I plan on following in my Grandmothers and sisters footsteps and becoming a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority in the near future. Until then I’m focusing on graduating with my undergrad to prepare for law school.

HEY! IT’S LEXI!

Hey! My name is Lexi Stefek and I am a freshman here at WSU! My major is Communication with an emphasis in Integrated Marketing. My love for writing, social media, creativity, and planning is what led me to the decision to study IMC.  

Big/little reveal

I am a member of Tri Delta and I love everything about being a part of this sorority! My sisters are amazing, and I am very passionate about our philanthropy, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital! I was very involved in high school, so I am looking forward to hopefully joining more groups on campus in the future.  

I was born and, partially, raised in Arizona, but I moved to Kansas in the fifth grade! Before coming to WSU, I lived in Ellsworth! Ellsworth is a smaller town, as I had a graduating class of 40, so going from living in the city to small town life was quite the transition. However, I love that I have been able to experience both lifestyles as I believe this has made me a more well-rounded person.  

Trevi Fountain in Rome

I really enjoy going back to my home state where there are beautiful palm trees, mountains, and the fast-paced city life, but Kansas has that Midwest charm that I also love. In my free time, I like to hang out with friends, spend time with my family, watch Netflix/Hulu, go on Pinterest, shop, and travel. This summer I was very lucky and fortunate to go to Rome, Italy for a week with my aunt for my senior trip! Rome was such a breathtaking, beautiful place and I definitely want to go back someday.

That’s me! I look forward to getting to know all of you throughout this semester! 

That’s gangsta!

What’s up guys! My name is Michael Flores and I am a Media Arts major. I was born in Los Angeles, California and yes I am well aware that I am far from home. I moved here around 2003 with my family to look for a safer environment because the location we were in was getting a little dicey. Since living here, experiencing all four seasons in a week was a huge culture shock to me. I remember at one point I thought the world was going to end because “time” was going to fast… I was a gullible kid back then. I have two brothers and a younger sister and although I have an older brother I am the more responsible one of the bunch. I’ve been going to WSU for about a year now and can say that this school has taught me a lot for the career I am wanting to get. My concentration is in filmmaking which comes from my passion for the film industry.

My passion for film started when I was in high school. For as long as I could remember, I always had a fascination with movies. Just thinking about all the man power that went behind making a movie was amazing to me and one day I just said to myself “I’am gonna be in the credits one day” and since then, I started taking photography classes in high school where I met my second greatest teacher who pushed me and helped me become what I am today, So when I finally bought a camera of my own I set out to do what I loved. Hopefully (fingers crossed), I can use my talent to work for HBO and hopefully work on the next Game of Thrones or Westworld.

I don’t know what to name this.

Big fan of the black and white filter for some reason.

My name is Rhett Allen Makovec. Currently I am a sophomore at Wichita State University majoring in communication with an emphasis in journalism. My occupation as of now is a KSHSAA official in Basketball and Football for the past three years. Also I work part time at Dick’s Sporting Goods on rock road.

My brother Lawton

My family means a lot to me, none more than my older brother Lawton who I’ve looked up to my whole life and currently live with off-campus (which saves a lot on tuition). Lawton is a real estate agent for the Pinnacle Realty Group and is the essence of self-made success. He’s without a doubt my best friend and continues to teach me every day whether he knows it or not.

Just an over-dramatic high school picture.

You would not be surprised to find that I am a big sports fan. Sports, especially basketball, have been a big part of me almost all my life. Sports have taught me that hard work and discipline can bring you success in your life. That’s what is great about athletics because anyone can learn the lessons of what it means to push your self both physically and mentally.